top of page

This sleeved set contains the first five books in the Adventures of the Northwoods Series by popular youth fiction writer, Lois Walfrid Johnson. It includes:

Book 1 - The Disappearing Stranger

Book 2 - The Hidden Message

Book 3 - The Creeping Shadows

Book 4 - The Vanishing Footprints

Book 5 - Trouble at Wild River


Best-selling novels set in the early 1900's in Minnesota, northwest Wisconsin, and Michigan, these compelling, historically accurate stories attract reluctant, average, and gifted readers. Both boys and girls identify with characters who face danger and mystery while learning to deal with peer pressure, family relationships, and the need for unconditional love and forgiveness.


"In her Northwoods Adventures, Lois Walfrid Johnson blends regional history, positive values, and engaging characters with mystery to boot. The same blend occurs in the Riverboat series, making the Underground Railroad very real to young readers. Our family gathered around and read each of her books aloud."

— Harvey Stower, Mayor, Amery, Wisconsin
Former State Representative, Wisconsin State Assembly



Adventures of the Northwoods Set 1: Volumes 1 through 5

SKU: 0880622857
  • Format: set of 5 Paperback books
    Page Count: from 144 to 166
    Author: Lois Walfrid Johnson
    Age: 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
    Grade: 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th
    Topic: Fiction, Reading, Chapter Books

bottom of page